The Education Ministry’s ‘Athina’ plan, which among other things proposes seemingly indiscriminate institutional mergers and abolitions with scant regard for academic criteria – has thrown another tough obstacle in the course of universities’ efforts.


Despite the fact that Mikis Theodorakis is actually at the Medical Centre of Athens due to lungs and respiration problems, he is so concerned by what is happening in Cyprus that he has issued the following


Angelos, the second son of Margarita, married round 18 months ago.
His wife has now got a child on 11 January 2013 at 02.00 am .

It’s a boy.

The whole family is very happy and Mikis Theodorakis is very proud.

We send sincere congratulations and wish all the best...

Bildergebnis für Theodorakis Glezos

Europe can only survive if we confront the financial markets with united resistance, and with the demand for a new European 'New Deal'.

We need to stop the attacks on Greece and other EU countries of the periphery of Europe immediately;

We need to stop the irresponsible savings and privatization policies which will otherwise result will be worse than the crisis of 1929.

Public debt in Europe must be radically restructured, especially at the expense of the private banking giants. The state must regain control of the banks,  as well as the financing of the European economy, which must be placed under national and social control.

One should not hand the keys to banks like Goldman Sachs, JP Morgan, UBS, or Deutsche Bank etc..
We need to ban the uncontrolled derivatives altogether, the destructive spearheading of financial capitalism, and create real economic development instead of speculative profits.

The current architecture of the financial system, which is based on the contracts of Maastricht and the WTO, has created a debt producing engine within Europe.

We need a radical change of all contracts, the subordination of the European Central Bank  (ECB) under the political control by the  peoples of Europe, and "a golden Rule" for social, fiscal and environmental standards in Europe.

We urgently need a shift of paradigm , a return to growth stimulation, by stimulating demand through new European investment programs, a new regulation, taxation and control of the flow of international capital and goods, a new form of protectionism in a reasonable and prudent independent Europe which will be the protagonist in the fight for a multipolar, democratic, ecological on a social planet.

We call on the forces and individuals who share these ideas, to merge  as soon as possible into a broad European Action Front, to create a European transitional program, to coordinate our international actions  in order to mobilize the forces of a public movement, to reverse the current balance of powers to topple the current and historical irresponsible leaders of our countries, in order to save our peoples and companies before it is too late for Europe.

Published in Athens by:
Mikis Theodorakis  and  Manolis Glezos

Initial signatories from Europe and Germany:

  • Rolf Becker (Schauspieler, Deutschland)
  • Martine Billard  (Co-Vorsitzende der französischen Linkspartei, PdG)
  • Prof. Dr. Lothar Bisky (Medienwissenschaftler, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments)
  • Jose Luis Centella (Generalsekretär der kommunistischen Partei Spaniens)
  • Daniela Dahn (Schriftstellerin, Deutschland)
  • Dr. Diether Dehm (Liedermacher, Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages)
  • Angelica Domröse (Schauspielerin, Regisseurin, Deutschland)
  • Costas Douzinas (Juraprofessor, Direktor des Birkbeck Institute for the Humanities in Birkbeck and der University of London)
  • Katja Ebstein (Sängerin, Schauspielerin, Deutschland)
  • Klaus Ernst (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages, Vorsitzender der Partei DIE LINKE)
  • Paolo Ferrero (Nationalsekretär der Partei Rifondazione Communista, Italien)
  • Prof. Dr. Heinrich Fink (Theologe, em. Rektor der Humboldt-Universität Berlin)
  • Wolfgang Gehrcke (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages)
  • Katia Gerou (Schauspielerin, Deutschland)
  • Dr. Gregor Gysi (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages, Vorsitzender der Fraktion DIE LINKE)
  • Renate Harcke (Mitglied im Vorstand der Partei DIE LINKE)
  • Heidrun Hegewald (Malerin, Autorin, Deutschland)
  • Klaus Höpcke (Journalist, Deutschland)
  • Andrej Hunko (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages und Mitglied der Parlamentarischen Versammlung des Europarates)
  • Barbara und Winfried Junge (Dokumentarfilmer, z. B. »Die Kinder von Golzow«)
  • Monna Kamu (Sängerin, Finnland)
  • Kyriakos Katzourakis (Direktor, Schauspieler, Griechenland)
  • Dimitris Konstantakopoulos (Journalist, Author, Griechenland)
  • Asteris Koutoulas (Autor, Griechenland)
  • Oskar Lafontaine (Mitglied des Landtages Saarland, 1985–1998 Ministerpräsident Saarlandes)
  • Pierre Laurent (Präsident der Partei der Europäischen Linken, Nationalsekretär der französischen kommunistischen Partei)
  • Stefan Liebich (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages)
  • Dr. Gesine Loetzsch (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages)
  • Ulrich Maurer (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages)
  • Jean-Luc Melenchon (MdEP der französischen Linksfront/ Front de Gauche (Fraktion GUE-NGL), Co-Vorsitzender der französischen Linkspartei (PdG)
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Methling (1998–2006 Umweltminister in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)
  • Willy Meyer (MdEP der Vereinigten Linken Spaniens, Fraktion GUE-NGL)
  • Takis Mitsidis (Kulturmanager, Deutschland)
  • Maite Mola, (Vizepräsidentin der Partei der Europäischen Linken, Verantwortliche des Bereichs Internationale Beziehungen der kommunistischen Partei Spaniens)
  • Yiannis Mylopoulos (Rektor der Aristoteles-Universität von Thessaloniki)
  • Eero Ojanen (Komponist, Pianist, Finnland)
  • Kostas Papanastasiou (Architekt, Dichter, Schauspieler, Sänger, Deutschland)
  • Theodosis Pelegrinis (Rektor der nationalen und kapodistrischen Universität von Athen)
  • Gina Pietsch (Sängerin, Schauspielerin, Italien)
  • Dr. Beate Reisch (Literaturwissenschaftlerin, Deutschland)
  • Prof. Günter Reisch (Filmregisseur, z. B. »Die Verlobte«)
  • Renate Richter (Schauspielerin, Deutschland)
  • Niko Saarela (Schauspieler, Finnland)
  • Peter Sodann (Schauspieler, Regisseur, Deutschland)
  • Eckart Spoo (Journalist, »Ossietzky«-Herausgeber)
  • Erkki Susi (Herausgeberin der Wochenzeitung “Tiedonantaja”, Finnland)
  • Hilmar Thate (Schauspieler, Deutschland)
  • Hannes Wader (Liedermacher, Deutschland)
  • Sahra Wagenknecht (Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages)
  • Konstantin Wecker (Liedermacher, Deutschland)
  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Wekwerth (Regisseur, Deutschland)
  • Prof. Dr. Jean Ziegler (Autor, Human Rights Council's Advisory Committee der Vereinten Nationen, Schweiz)